Vegan Butter Biscuits

10930540_10152924389675129_2488612821423667555_n

I have been a vegetarian since birth and so has my mother so naturally I have always contemplated a Vegan lifestyle. Though over the past year my mum has had to change to a lactose free diet and I feel I need to start doing the same. Many people will develop a lactose intolerance and it is said that we as mammals are naturally meant to become lactose intolerant as we mature.

Thus, I have been looking into diary replacements when I stumbled on my mums old butter cookie recipe. Traditionally this uses a lot of Margarine and an egg. Though it is not that hard to tinker with these simple ingredients to make this easy recipe into quick vegan cookies.

Ingredients

  • 120grams Margarine (I use Nuttelex)
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 1 1/2 Cup Self Raising Flour
  • Half  a Banana (Half a Banana equals 1 egg though you may need to use 3/4 of a Banana depending on its size)
  • Vanilla Essence
  • Salt
  • Chocolate Chips (I used Sweet Williams)

Method

  1. Cream the Margarine into the Sugar.
  2. Mash the Banana (until it looks like baby food) and add into the mixture and stir together.
  3. Add flour, Salt, Vanilla extract and mix into a dough. (About half way through this add the chocolate chips)
  4. Place onto a backing tray and bake.
  5. Cook at 350 F° / 180 C° 10-15 minutes.

Review

First time I have not made this without egg and I genuinely believe the removal of the egg and substituting it for the Banana made the taste more refined.
If you are like me and eat the cookie dough as you are making them you will notice a slight Banana taste though once they have finished baking you should notice this taste has disappeared. (It did in mine anyway)
This meant that my Banana hating boyfriend actually enjoyed these biscuits and it also gave him some health benefits that he misses not eating Banana’s.

To ensure I didn’t get a Banana tasting biscuit (due to my boyfriend and mother disliking the taste of Bananas) I did add a little more Vanilla Essence than I would normally use and the Banana I used was on the smaller side.
Best thing about these biscuits is they are quick and easy to make and great to make with kids. (I use to make these with mum all the time when I was younger.)

If you try this recipe let me know how your biscuits turn out.

-Amy

Leave a Reply

